Skip to content

Rockland High School Students Recognized as John and Abigail Adams MCAS Scholars

ROCKLAND — Principal John Harrison is pleased to announce that 40 Rockland High School seniors were recognized as John and Abigail Adams MCAS Scholars at a reception held earlier this month at the school.

The reception was held Thursday, Nov. 14 at the RHS library. Principal Harrison commended the students for their accomplishment, which required that they score at the Advanced level on one of the three MCAS tests in English Language Arts, Mathematics, or one of the Science exams (Biology, Chemistry, Introductory Physics, or Technology/Engineering).

In addition to scoring on the Advanced level on one test, students had to score at the Proficient level or higher on the remaining two MCAS tests, along with having combined scores from all three tests that placed them in the top 25 percent of students in their graduating class.

Students take the MCAS tests in the spring of their sophomore year.

Along with the recognition, each student will receive a scholarship that provides a tuition credit for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. The scholarship covers tuition only; fees and room and board are not included. The scholarship must be used within six years of a student’s high school graduation.

To receive and to continue receiving the Adams Scholarship, a student must be enrolled full-time at a Massachusetts public higher education institution. They must also maintain a cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0 on all college work, and they have to submit financial aid (FAFSA) forms each year.

Principal Harrison and the RHS guidance department staff provided a cake for students to enjoy at the reception.

The list of students recognized at the reception include the following:

Melyssa Almeida, Eric Barber, Sean Belmonte, Jad Bendarkawi, Makayla Berardi, Mathew Bruzzese, Kathryn Buckley, Nicolas Cedrone, Haley Cotton, Kerin Dalton, Pietra Dasilva, Jessica DeMarco, Jillian Dorney, Caroline Elie, Cynthia Elliott, Andrew Evans, Ashley Gallagher, Tyler Gambon, Madeline Gear, Lara Glennon, Nicole Guidel-Winter, Jacob Harris, Melanie Harris, Kylie Houde, Ashley Kelly, Emma Lauria, Kyle Lenihan, Elizabeth McGaffigan, Sarah McLellan, Sabrina Morgan, Hannah Murphy, Dakota Pike, Oliver Reera, Owen Shea, Lucas Sprague, Zachary Webb, Jacob Willis, Hannah Wyllie, Julia Yeadon and Danting Zhu.

Translate »

Copyright © 2019 Rockland Public Schools · Site Design by JGPR · Log in