Skip to content

National Honor Society Induction

James Patton, left, was presented with a plaque designating his honorary induction to the National Honor Society last night, May 16. With him are NHS members who are also on his tennis team, from left, Sean Sugrue, John Ellard, Tyler Beatrice, Joseph Naughton and Ronan McNally. photo courtesy of John Ellard

On Wednesday evening, May 16, fifteen Rockland High School juniors and two seniors were inducted into the Pentelic Chapter of the National Honor Society.

Senior President Sean Sugrue presided over the formal ceremony, explaining the history and significance of membership in the national organization.

NHS treasurer, Joseph Naughton presented James Patton as this year's honorary NHS inductee. Patton is a retired social studies teacher who has remained active at Rockland High School as a substitute teacher, and proctor for AP exams.  He also still coaches the boys' tennis team, a position that he has held for over 20 years in addition to other coaching positions.

Secretary Isabelle Uong called the roll of seniors and announced their college acceptances.  Vice President Ronan McNally exemplified the torch representing the four virtues of the National Honor Society: Character, Scholarship, Leadership and Service.

The new inductees were presented with their NHS pins and membership cards.

The following are members of the NHS from the Class of 2018

Stephanie Blaney, Eden Dalton, Alexander Domina, Rebecca Elliott, Aiden Glennon, Margaret Jones, Meredith Long, Sarah Lovell, Lily Matson, Ronan McNally, Saoirse McNally, Joseph Naughton, Harrison O'Brien, Matthew O'Brien, Erika Ochenduszko, Rebekah Panaro, Christopher Penney, Zachary Peterson, Jillian Schofield, Sean Sugrue, Isabelle Uong and James White.

NHS Seniors: Front from left; Matt O'Brien, Alex Domina, Sarah Lovell, Rebecca Elliot, James White, Lily Matson, Saoirse McNally, Izzy Uong, Macie Jones. Back from left: Ronan McNally, Erika Ochenduszko, Harry O'Brien, Aiden Glennon, Chris Penney, Zach Peterson, Stephanie Blaney, Jillian Schofield, Eden Dalton, Joseph Naughton, Sean Sugrue. Missing from photo are Meredith Long and Rebekah Panaro.  photo courtesy of Pat Glennon

Following are the inductees from the Class of 2019:

Tyler Beatrice, Madison Blonde, Caitlin Cameron, Abigail Condon, John Ellard, Elizabeth Kelley, Sean Morrissey, Rebecca Mullen, Jasmin Morse, Francisco Oliveira, Sarah Pollard, Michelle Ramoska, Justin Sherlock, Marissa Smith and Kara Sullivan.

Junior inductees: Back from left: Madison Blonde, Sean Morrissey, John Ellard, Francisco Oliveira, Tyler Beatrice, Elizabeth Kelley and Rebecca Mullen. Front from left: Kara Sullivan, Abigail Condon, Marissa Smith, Caitlin Cameron, Justin Sherlock, Michelle Ramoska and Jasmin Morse. Missing from photo is Sarah Pollard. photo courtesy of John Ellard

Gallery photos by Adrienne Donovan

Translate »

Copyright © 2019 Rockland Public Schools · Site Design by JGPR · Log in