The Postgraduate Year

A postgraduate year gives students some extra time to strengthen academic skills, to participate in sports and to prepare for college admissions testing. For many students, it also gives them a little extra time to mature.

Over 150 schools worldwide offer postgraduate programs. Admissions standards vary as do the objectives of the postgraduate programs themselves. It probably makes a certain amount of sense to have a student stay on at his old school for the postgraduate year. If he wants to attend another school, he may find the admissions process almost as intimidating as applying to be a first year student. On the other hand, admissions to a post grad year at his old school will be a mere formality. Postgraduate years are particularly useful for boys who want an extra year to mature before moving on. The postgraduate year gives young men that little extra confidence which they might lack at the end of 12th grade.

Improve College Admissions Chances

Many students choose to do a post grad year to improve their chances for admission to a particular college. College admissions can be fiercely competitive. If a student has his heart set on getting into a certain college, he may in fact be better off waiting out a year in the hopes that his application might be more favorably received. As with all academic decisions, it is a good idea to seek advice from an educational consultant.

Perfect Athletic Skills

Other students want to take a year before heading off to college to perfect their athletic skills. Perhaps a student is a really fine hockey player or a swimmer. The extra year spent perfecting athletic skills can really boost his chances of making a top college team.

Schools that offer a PG Year

There is only one school that offers a PG program exclusively - Bridgton Academy in North Bridgton, Maine. All the other schools on the list below offer their PG year as a kind of 13th grade if you will.

Here are some schools that offer PG programs:

http://www.schools.com - The Association of Boarding Schools
http://www.nais.org - The National Association of Independent Schools

The list below contains independent boarding schools throughout New English that offer a PG year. (Some of these schools may change their programs, so it is important to contact the school directly.)

* All Girls School
** All Boys School

Massachusetts:

Berkshire School, Sheffield - http://www.berkshireschool.org/
Charlemont Academy, Charlemont - http://www.charlemont.org/
The Cambridge School of Weston, Weston - http://www.csw.org/
Chapel Hill-Chauncy Hall School, Waltham - http://www.chch.org/
Cushing Academy, Ashburnham - http://www.cushing.org/
Deerfield Academy, Deerfield - http://www.deerfield.edu/
Northfield Mount Herman School, Northfield - http://www.nmhschool.org/
Phillips Academy at Andover, Andover - http://www.andover.edu/
Riverview School, East Sandwich - http://www.riverviewschool.org/
*Stoneleigh-Burnham School, Greenfield - http://www.sbschool.org/
Wilbraham & Monson Academy, Wilbraham - http://www.wma.us
The Williston Northampton School, East Hampton - http://www.williston.com/
The Winchendon School, Winchendon - http://www.winchendon.org/
Worcester Academy, Worcester - http://www.worcesteracademy.org/

Maine:

**Bridgton Academy, North Bridgton - http://www.bridgtonacademy.org/
Fryeburg Academy, Fryeburg - http://www.fryeburgacademy.org/
Gould Academy, Bethel - http://www.gouldacademy.org/
Hebron Academy, Hebron - http://www.hebronacademy.org/
Hyde School, Bath - http://www.hyde.edu/
Kents Hill School, Kents Hill - http://www.kentshill.org/
Maine Central Institute, Pittsfield - http://mci-school.org/

Connecticut:

**Avon Old Farms, Avon - http://www.avonoldfarms.com/
Canterbury School, New Milford - http://www.cbury.org/
Cheshire Academy, Cheshire - http://www.cheshireacademy.org/
Choate Rosemary Hall, Wallingford - http://www.choate.edu/
The Gunnery, Washington - http://www.gunnery.org/
Hotchkiss School, Lakeville - http://www.hotchkiss.org/
Marianapolis Prep School, Thompson - http://www.marianapolis.org/
**Oxford Academy, Westbrook - http://www.oxfordacademy.net/
Pomfret School, Pomfret - http://www.pomfretschool.org/
**St. Thomas More, Oakdale - http://www.stthomasmoreschool.com/
Suffield Academy, Suffield - http://www.suffieldacademy.org/
Westminster School, Simsbury - http://www.westminster-school.org/
**The Woodhall School, Bethlehem, - http://www.woodhallschool.org/

New Hampshire:

Brewster Academy, Wolfeboro - http://www.brewsteracademy.org/
Kimball Union Academy, Meriden - http://www.kua.org/
Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter - http://www.exeter.edu/
Tilton School, Tilton - http://www.tiltonschool.org/

Vermont:

St. Johnsbury Academy, St. Johnsbury - http://www.stjohnsburyacademy.org/
Vermont Academy, Saxtons River - http://www.vermontacademy.org/