Gap Year Information

A gap year (also known as year abroad, year out, year off, deferred year, and bridging year) is a term that refers to a prolonged period (often, but not always, a year) between a life-stage. The most popular gap years are taken pre or during matriculation from high school or college. Young adults often choose to participate in community service programs, employment, internships, study abroad opportunities, and travel.

Below are some resources that may be helpful when exploring a Gap Year:

Americorps - http://www.americorps.gov/
City Year - http://www.cityyear.org
Dynamy - http://www.dynamy.org
Earthwatch - http://www.earthwatch.org
Gap Year - http://www.gapyear.com
Groove Job - http://www.groovejob.com
Habitat for Humanity - http://www.habitat.org
Internship Connection - http://www.internshipconnection.com
LeapNow - http://www.leapnow.org
NOLS - (National Outdoor Leadership School) - http://www.nols.edu
Outward Bound - http://www.outwardbound.org
United Planet - http://www.unitedplanet.org

Article - What Is the Gap-Year Advantage?
http://www.transitionsabroad.com/publications/magazine/0603/the_gap_year_advantage.shtml